Last Updated : 15 October, 2013
Please visit Madigan Pro Bike Centre click here to visit our homepage

News & Photos 2013


25th Madigan Cycles Grand Prix - 3rd August 2013

Noel Collins wins 2013 Madigan Cycles G.P. at Klroot

Team Madigan Cycling Club, Carrickfergus hosted the 25th Madigan Cycles Grand Prix at Kilroot near Carrickfergus Co. Antrim on Saturday 3rd August. This year the Madigan G.P. followed the World Police & Fire Games Road Races that took place in the morning using the same course, and for the 25th year the Madigan G.P. race was again kindly sponsored by Mr Ronnie McKeegan of Madigan Cycles / Madigan Pro Bike Centre in Carrickfergus, and also for the fifth year by Carrickfergus Borough Council. The weather was good but a strong wind blew all day which made the first breaks instigated by last year's winner Carrickfergus man Gary Cranston unsuccessful. Finally a sole break made some time on the first of three laps of the tough 18-mile circuit and big Ian Ingles was away. The Curran Racing man showed superb strength by remaining out front on his own into a strong wind and increased the gap to over 1 minute by the end of lap two. On the last lap riders tried to break away from the bunch on the drag towards the Bla Hole Whitehead with the speed increasing over 30mph up the hill. The gap to Ian Ingles reduced swiftly to 15 sec's only to increase again on the coast road to 30secs. However when a small group finally made some time back on Ian, a two man chase group formed - Noel Collins, Caldwell Cycles & David Montgomery, XMTB, they had the speed on the Lizard climb Glynn and made the catch at Gleno village. Ian held their wheels until the final climb of Seven Sisters Beltoy where the fresher legs of Noel & David powered over the climb & down the fast decent of Beltoy to the finish line at Kilroot. It was Noel who had the extra speed to win by a few seconds from David, and the rider of the race Ian Ingles just made in home ahead of the depleted brunch for a well deserved third place. Indeed Curran Racing dominated by taking 3rd, 4th, 5th, and 6th. Liam Curran won the bunch sprint for 6th place at 23 seconds behind the winner Noel Collins.

A-Race: 1 Noel Collins (Caldwell Cycles); 2 David Montgomery (XMTB) @ 1 second; 3 Ian Ingles (Curran Racing); 4 James McMaster (Curran Racing) both at 9 seconds; 5 David Hamilton (Curran Racing) at 12 seconds; 6 Liam Curran (Curran Racing) at 23 seconds.

B-Race (A4):

Paul Stenson (Team Madigan); 2 Mark Millar (Unattached); 3 Ben McComb (Team Madigan); 4 Graham Craft (Dromara CC); 5 Jamie Ambrose (Curran Racing); 6 David Doherty (Foyle CC).

Woman's Race:

1 Mary Angela Taylor (Carn Wheelers); 2 Julie Rea (Phoenix CC); 3 Janine McNally (North Down CC).

Over 50s Race:

1 Peter Gillespie (Tulamore, Buckly Cycles); 2 Paul McGuckin (Banbridge CC); 3 Albert Douglas (Team Madigan); 4 Phil Beattie (Banbridge CC); 5 Martin Little (North Down CC); 6 Raymond Beers (East Antrim Audi).


Team Madigan boys do well at Rás Loughgiel- 19th May 2013

In the A4 Stage Race- Colin Porter takes forth in GC taking him into the A3 ranks, bad luck to Paul Stenson who was close to top of GC before a crash at the end of the last stage. In what could only be described as horrendous conditions only half of those who had pre-entered signed on for the second stage in the A4 Rás Loughgiel promoted by Duffin Transport and sponsored by Clinivet. With the crashes on Friday evening's stage some riders would have been experiencing soreness and stiffness while others were nursing sick bikes. Others may have decided that a warm bed was much more preferable to signing on for misery so only forty riders powered through the time trial. It was a good ride for Kings Moss rider, Derek Ferguson, who topped the results with a 7.44 - only one second ahead of Bann Valley's Gerard McNally and some eight seconds faster than third place man Luke Hylands of Keevan CC. However weather conditions continued to worsen and some decided to call it quits leaving only twenty seven riders to take to the line for the tough afternoon stage which featured climbs of Orra Mountain.

In the end it was McElderry who took the stage victory but left Hylands overall victor on GC.  Mark Glendinning  of Spires CC  took third ahead of   Colin Porter (Madigan CC),  David McQuilken  (Causeway CC ) and Alister McKee of East Antrim CC

Another fine result for Curtis Gilmore who got 3rd in the A3 race despite falling after hiting a huge pothole.


Results for Team Madigan at John Beggs Memorial Road Race, 27th Apr 13

The A3 Seamus McGreevy Memorial Race saw a full field of riders take to the roads around Kinallen to cover the 90 km at a fast pace. The race did not break up as much as was expected although groups did get away for short periods. Newry's Jude Sands, Ronnie Smyth (Dromara CC), Thomas Simmons (VC Glendale), Curtis Gilmore (Team Madigan) and Jay Gault (Phoenix CC) made some progress but the peloton never let them get out of sight and they were reeled in. In the final straight the riders were more broken up and lined out and it was Curtis Gilmore of Team Madigan who saw his chance and pushed through to take a clear win.

A4 Madigan's Chris Hutchinson who has shown consistent form so far this season was second ahead of Liam Cullen (Barrow Wheelers). Chris now moves to A3 status in his finish season of racing. Well done Chris.


24th Apr 13, Club Mtb meet at Belfast's new trails

Great crack on the new trails, Chris Cooke disappeared before the camera came out.


10th April 2013, First Club Road Race of 2013 at Glenoe


3 April 2013 Club Hill Climb, Carncastle / Feystown Road

See Quick links for results

Sunday Club Run, 3th March 2013 (Carnlough)



- -

view team madigan on facebook view cycling irelands homepage view cycling ulsters websitewebsite suggestions>>
Copyright Team Madigan CC 2011